About the Institute

The Department of Computer Science was established on June 9, 2006 as a scientific and teaching unit of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences of the University of Rzeszów, and then was transformed on September 1, 2011 into the Institute of Computer Science, which functioned within the structure of this Faculty until October 31, 2013. From November 1, 2013 As a result of the reorganization of the Faculty, the Institute of Computer Science became the Department again. After the organizational structure of the University of Rzeszów changed on October 1, 2019, by decision of the Senate of the University of Rzeszów, the Institute of Computer Science was established at the College of Natural Sciences.

In the last evaluation of scientific activities in 2022, the Institute of Informatics obtained category A in the discipline of information and communication technology. According to the current regulations, this means that the Institute of Computer Science has the right to award doctorates and habilitations in this discipline and the right to participate in the activities of the Doctoral School of the University of Rzeszow.

The Head of the Institute is Ph.D. Jan G. Bazan, prof. UR.

The Institute of Computer Science is authorized to provide education at first-cycle studies (3.5-year engineering studies) and second-cycle studies (1.5-year master's studies) in the fields of Computer Science and Computer Science and Econometrics. Both fields of study received a positive assessment from the Polish Accreditation Committee.

Currently, the Institute employs 4 associate professors (with Ph.D. habilitation), 16 assistant professors (with a Ph.D. degree), 9 assistants (with a Master's degree) and 5 engineering and technical employees. The Institute consists of two units: the Department of Approximate Methods and the Interdisciplinary Center for Computational Modeling (ICCM).