About the Institute

The origins of the Institute date back to 1973 when the Higher Pedagogical School launched its part-time course in History. On the 1st of October 1974, the Independent Department of History was established. Seven years later, it was transformed into the Department of History. In 1982, the Institute of History was established. By the end of the 1990s, the Institute comprised 12 independent research units.

The Institute was authorised to confer doctoral degrees in 1993. In 1999, the Faculty of Sociology and History was vested with the right to grant postdoctoral degrees in History. As of the academic year 2019/20, the Institute of History is a part of the College of Humanities at the University of Rzeszow.

The Institute offers three BA and MA programmes: History, Cultural Studies and Culture and Heritage Tourism. The Institute cooperates with several external parties, including a local branch of the Polish Historical Society and the Historical Association.